Totnes Constituency Labour Party members
Totnes Constituency Labour Party members

We are a thriving CLP with nearly 1,000 members covering the towns of Totnes, Brixham, Kingsbridge, Dartmouth, Salcombe, South Brent, and the villages and rural areas between. We hold a full CLP meeting on the first Thursday of every month, 7pm-9pm. All members are welcome (please bring your membership card).

If you’re not yet a member or prefer a more formal discussion, we have regular hub meetings in Totnes, Brixham, Dartmouth and South Brent. Follow us on Facebook to find out more.

Since the General Election in 2015, we have seen a huge increase in our membership and activism. In 2017, we gained the largest share of the vote for Labour since the 1970’s, coming second to the now former-Conservative, Sarah Wollaston, with 26% of the vote. In the South Hams District Council Elections 2019, we fielded 16 strong candidates. We are also very active in campaigns on poverty and benefits, the NHS, education, the environment, and many other issues.

Like other rural areas in the South West of England, we are frustrated at decades of Conservative rule. We’re angry at cuts and closures of our local services, depressed at being treated as if rural areas don’t suffer poverty, debt or a lack of services. However, there is an alternative – with your support, we can turn around the lives of the many people in our area who are not living the rural dream! We will invest properly in jobs, services and facilities. We can make South Devon a place for everyone to live, through all of their lives.


Executive Committee:

The Executive Committee, elected on 4th July 2019, for the Totnes Constituency Labour Party are:

  • Chair: Lynn Alderson
  • Secretary: Rick Gaehl
  • Vice Chair: Josh Adams
  • Policy Officer: Lauren Davison
  • Treasurer: Colin Luker
  • Women’s Officer: Laurel Ellis/Helen Alipaz (Job Share)


  • Elections Coordinator: Peter McIlven
  • Campaigns Coordinator: Michael Elsmere
  • Press and Communications Coordinator: Helen Beetham
  • Trade Union Liaison Officer (TULO): Paul Bishop
  • Animal Rights Coordinator: Ama Menec
  • Environment Coordinator: Currently vacant
  • Youth Officer: Currently vacant
Totnes Constituency
Totnes Constituency
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search